Some measurements and what they mean

First of all, I want to start off by mentioning something I did not mention a few weeks ago: my measurements.

I started out at 37.5″-32.5″-42.5″.

Now, I’m at 37″-31″-42″.

This may not seem like a huge difference, but I can definitely tell the difference! I have been able to loosen my work belt an entire notch! My clothes are beginning to fit… I began my fitness journey when I could no longer fit into any of my jeans and bras. I refused to buy new clothes and give in to my weight gain!

Since I stopped using my vape–if you’ve been living under a rock, it is a “pen” that produces water vapor with nicotine in it–I have gained weight. Nicotine apparently suppressed cravings, or quitting has made me restless and made me want to eat to pass time or fix my anxieties. I have also been feeling very tired and lethargic for the past few months (due to winter), and quitting the vape did not help.

Anyway, I’m not sure what my goal is as far as inches go, but I want to be in the best shape that my body can get in (sans body building type of muscles).

I feel like the best kind of goal to have when you’re starting out with a workout and don’t your potential is to have an open-minded goal: no specific amounts of pounds or inches lost. I think every workout/weight loss goal should be to gain the healthiest body you can potentially have that you feel good about.

As I mentioned before, I was an athlete in high school, but after then not so much. I hear about BMI (Body Mass Index) all the time, and I started digging into that…

  • BMI, if you didn’t already know, is mass (in kg) divided by height (in meters squared).
  • You can find your’s out, and where you fall on the scale, by Google searching “BMI calculator.”
  • My BMI is about 22.4; This falls in the “normal” weight range, albeit the higher end of the normal weight range.

My goal is to get a little bit lower in this range… Not because I think I’m fat, but because I know I have a few inches to lose. I also know that muscle tissue weighs more than fat tissue, so as I lose fat I may actually gain weight. By getting to a lower BMI, I will be healthier. I know this because I can actually lose about 10 pounds and still look relatively healthy, but I mostly lose a lot of weight in my, ehm, assets as well… I want to get my body tighter, and I don’t want to lose my curves. I like my humps. 🙂

Though I know that goals are suppose to be specific–so they say–the more specific I am the more I tend to let myself down and give up. At least, that’s how I was in the past. Things have changed a whole lot for me, but I also don’t want to be unrealistic. If I pick something I can’t obtain, then I may get discouraged and quit…

However, this got me thinking about female measurements and BMI and what is considered to be ideal. I took the top few relevant Google search results. Here is a sample what I found:

  • Prime Health Solutions found that the ideal BMI according to women is 18.9 and to men is 18.8. They also found that there are also two sets of ideals when it comes to the ideal waist-to-hip ratio (women say 0.7, men say 0.73) and the waist-to-chest ratio (women say 0.6, men say 0.69). Ultimately, both seem to have a very similar ideal measurement of a woman.
  • Today says that an ideal measurements for women, according to women, are a BMI of 18.8, WHR of 0.73, and a WCR of 0.69. According to men, the ideal BMI for a woman is 18.82, the WHR is 0.7, and the WCR is 0.67. Again, both sexes show similar results. Additionally, it was found that these ideal measurements are smaller than the average measurements.
  • The Golden ratio method is mentioned in popular music and culture quite often. You’ve definitely heard 36-24-36. To get your waist circumference, you take your height and multiply it by 0.382. For your ideal shoulder circumference, you take your ideal waist circumference and and multiply it by 1.681. To determine your ideal hip circumference, you take your ideal waist circumference multiplied by 1.42.

My waist-to-hip ratio (which I got by dividing my waist measurement by my hip measurement, as well as double checking this on this calculator) is 0.74, which is apparently ideal. I have to agree, as I constantly get random compliments from strangers on my derriere.

My waist-to-chest ratio is 0.84, which is apparently not ideal. Considering that I wear a D bra which I am currently popping out of the top of–not in a good way–I guess I agree. However, it means that my waist is not small enough for my breast size to be considered ideal for my measurements.  

My “golden ratio” is 25.212″ waist, 42.381″ shoulders, and 35.801″ hips. If this has any truth to it, it looks like I’ve got some work to do on my waist and hips… At least my shoulders are small enough (as they are a little smaller than 42″).

I really do think that the Bliss pack I mentioned previously is helping me with this weight loss goal.

It is definitely helping to give me energy and helped me with cravings. It has also encouraged me to drink a lot more water (as you are required to drink 100 ounces of water a day, at the very least). And, for some reason, it makes me crave healthier alternatives.

For example, I normally think bananas are gross–the texture and flavor normally don’t appeal to me at all–and I only buy them because my son wanted them. I actually craved a banana the other day and ate one!

Even though I only had about a week’s worth of a sample, and I’m not exactly sure if you can buy them separately from the Bliss Go Pack… I know that the Bliss Go Pack is a bit pricey, but I think if you are really wanting a boost to help you lose weight and achieve goals I definitely think you should consider the Bliss supplement or even the entire Bliss Go Pack.

I don’t think I need it permanently year-round, but I would like to add this supplement to my diet during our cold Midwestern seasons as I really get lethargic and sluggish during those.

Also: I stuck with the interval training, and it made me sweat my tushy off! It was fun as well, but it could have been because my son was the one “in charge” of starting the intervals. 🙂 It was a fun way for us to go to school!

Leave a Reply

