Kickin’ it up a notch!

I’m excited, because I discovered something super cool! But it wouldn’t be true to my form if I didn’t give a backstory! 😉

Sundays are my rest days (as far as any type of real exercise). It just kind of worked out that way, since Monday-Friday I am walking my son to school, and Saturdays I have been hiking. I figured I would give myself one day of rest, and that worked out because Sundays typically are my busiest dog training client days.

Monday I began to jog home after I dropped my son off at school. I feel like this is the easiest way for me to gauge how far I am running without any sort of app. This distance just so happens to be a mile.

So, so far, I have been walking at least one mile a day and jogging a mile a day as well.

I did this because I don’t think that the “First attempt at a 10k” program is training me quickly enough to be able to successfully run a 10k in time for the race on May 21st (I am training for a 5 mile mud run with an obstacle course).

I do like that this program because:

  • It keeps me on a solid workout regimen of at least 3 days of cardio per week.
  • It has been motivating me to workout.
  • It gives me information about my performance, such as how many calories I burned, the speeds I was going, and more!

I didn’t initially like that the program, starting on week 2, has interval training instead of jogging and/or running for a distance. 

  • I wanted to jog for a while, as I was told back in my high school athlete days that sprinting over and over was very bad for your body and endurance. Also, I’m the kind of person who wants to be lazy when possible–aka when I’m done I’m done. I don’t like to walk until I’m done going quickly.
  • I felt like I wasn’t getting trained quickly enough. The race I’m training for is in a few weeks, and I want to be so ready!

However, when I stumbled upon interval training on accident, I learned that interval training supposedly is a much better way to burn fat than straight-up cardio… Check this out from an article by Muscle for Life:

Researchers had 10 men and 10 women train 3 times per week, with one group doing 4 to 6 30-second treadmill sprints (with 4 to 6 minutes of rest in between each), and the other group doing 30 to 60 minutes of steady-state cardio (running on the treadmill at the “magical fat loss zone” of 65% VO2 max).

The results?

After 6 weeks of training, the subjects doing the intervals had lost more fat.

Crazy-sauce, amiright?!

The reason being is that your body gets use to cardio, so you basically need to shock your system constantly.

I would lie and say that I’m only running and getting in shape to get ready for this race, but I can’t even do it. I’m totally trying to lose weight as well.

Guess who’s going to be doing lots and lots of interval training!

I have also added the “Run a 10k” program to my S Health app, but I also a few problems with this one…

  1. Like I mentioned in my first post, the first week it tells you–aside from a “brisk walking” warm up and a cool down–to run the entire time. But, this changes in week  2. In week 2 you have more time to warm up. You also don’t have to maintain a relatively speedy speed when you’re at a beginner level and are not in shape enough to do so without injury.
  2. This measures time, but indirectly measures distance in terms of how many miles per hour (mph, duh) you are running. This is a problem, because say I want to run 1.5 miles: If I am not running at the speed indicated, I may not reach my goal of 1.5 miles. I get that the cardio time should be taken into consideration, but say I am using this app so that I can train to “Run a 10k,” and we now have a slight problem.

So, basically, while I think that this particular program (“Run a 10k”) is useful, it is better meant for someone who has been running a few months and has a bit of good fitness.

Even though I am training for a 10k and am not a seasoned runner as I once was, I do not think that the “Run a 10k” program is something I will implement right now. I think will probably begin using that part of the app in a few weeks.

Until then, I will continue using the “First attempt at a 10k program” 3 days a week, as scheduled, and I will now begin using the “Distance target” and “Pace target” in the general “Running” tab.

In the “Pace Target” part of the “Running” tab, you have several different “pace-setters” to choose from. These include:

  1. Light walking coach
  2. Brisk walking coach
  3. Light jogging coach
  4. Light running coach
  5. Power walking coach
  6. Calorie burning coach
  7. Endurance jogging coach
  8. Endurance running coach
  9. Speed increasing coach
  10. Speed endurance coach

What I like about the “Pace-Setter” options in the “Running” program:

  • I like that these increase in difficulty as you go down the list. You can see what you’re realistically ready for. If you, like myself, want to train for
  • I also like that you can choose your workout. By each “coach” it states exactly what you’re getting yourself into. No guesswork! Also, if your workout the day before wiped you out you can still choose a workout you feel is more appropriate for the moment, but is still challenging in itself.

The “Distance target” is pretty self-explanatory: However many miles you want to run is how many you choose. You can increase or decrease distance in increments of a half of a mile. However, if you decrease as much as possible you will see that it puts “0.1 mi” as your distance target. This will make each half mile you add on an odd number instead of an even one. As an alternative, you can also click the numbers and enter what you want.

There are other targets as well, and all of these have amazing information that will link back into the original “Running” app… So, what that means is any info from any program in the “Running” program will sync together. The S Health app truly is an amazing app that comes free with an Android device. (I feel sorry for iPhone users!)

Leave a Reply

